August 24, 2012

Extended Holidays

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:13 pm by newsurroundings

Ok, I think this holiday thing is getting a little out of hand.  My doctor is on holiday for the whole month of August.  Not everyone takes that much time off, but they all seem to go off at the same time- at least all the people we need.  I am not the only member of the family whose doctor is not available.  Biscuit, our beloved cat, has a terrible cold after spending last week in a kennel and his veterinarian is also on holiday.  Yes, cats can get colds- he has been sneezing, swallowing hard (as if his throat hurts), vigorously rubbing his little itchy nose, and sleeping even longer than his normal 18-hours.   I think now he has a fever- his ears feel hot to me- so I’ll have to call and see if there is perhaps one vet left in town.

All the electricians also have apparently left town.  So, we will just have to wait for those light fixtures that I bought months ago to be installed.  Maybe our friend coming over tomorrow night won’t notice the exposed bulbs dangling from cords coming out of uncovered holes in our ceiling.

Tonight, Bryan and I headed out to a new restaurant that we had heard of and were eager to try.  We parked and before we even got up to it, I spotted that too-familiar sign in the window- “Chiuso per la vacanze”.

I suppose I’ll look back on this in a few months and see the humor in it.  But, right now I’m just hoping we don’t have a major plumbing problem or something worse before the end of the month.

There’s one thing I can’t figure out though.  With so many residents on holiday, in the south of France, Turkey, Greece, or wherever, why is there still so much traffic in Lugano?

Leave a Reply

