October 24, 2012

Sono Confuso

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:59 pm by newsurroundings

A little word can make a big difference.  I’ve been studying Italian now for a few months and trying to speak it some whenever I’m out.  Before I even get started, I tell people that I’m just learning so they’ll understand if I look confused or take an extra long time to say a simple sentence.  I discovered today that I haven’t been saying what I thought I was saying.

I have been meaning to say, “I speak a little Italian”.  Translation- “Parlo un po’ italiano”.

What I have been saying is, “Parlo lo po’ italiano”.  Translation- “I talk about the little Italian”.

That explains all the funny looks I’ve been getting.

 

Addendum:  March 7, 2013- I now know that the correct way to say this is actually, “Parlo poco l’italiano”.  Always learning.

2 Comments »

  1. Stephanie Angotti said,

    That is so funny Nancy… thanks for the laugh this morning!

    Stephanie Angotti

    s_angotti@hotmail.com

    H: +32 3 297 96 15

    M: + 32 (0) 478 96 82 01

    • Stephanie, I’m sure I’ll have many more embarrassing moments to share. I just have to laugh about it and keep on trying.


Leave a Reply

